Minutes of the Annual General Meeting of the <u>TAVISTOCK TOWN COUNCIL</u> held in the Council Chamber, Drake Road, Tavistock on <u>MONDAY</u> the <u>23rd</u> day of <u>MAY</u> <u>2011</u> at <u>7.00 p.m</u>.

Present: Cllr D Whitcomb Mayor

Cllr Mrs S Bailey Cllr D Eberlie Cllr Mrs M Govier Cllr Mrs A Johnson Cllr Mrs J C Metcalf

Cllr E Sanders

Cllr P Sanders D Mayor

Cllr J Sellis Cllr J Sheldon Cllr E H Sherrell Cllr H Smith Cllr A. Tossell Cllr B Trew

In Attendance: Town Clerk, Assistant to Town Clerk, Works

Superintendent, Town Clerk Designate, Assistant Works

Superintendent, 1 member of the Public,

1 member of the press

PRAYERS Prayers were offered by the Rev Sean Brassil of Whitchurch Parish Church.

001. APOLOGIES

There were no apologies for absence.

Cllr David Whitcomb welcomed everyone to the AGM.

002. ELECTION OF TOWN MAYOR FOR THE ENSUING YEAR.

Cllr Whitcomb, seconded by Cllr Mrs Johnson, proposed that Cllr P Sanders be appointed Town Mayor for the ensuing year. It was then **RESOLVED** that Cllr P Sanders be appointed Town Mayor for the ensuing year.

Cllr P Sanders was invested with the Chain of Office, and the newly elected Mayor thanked the Council for the honour of being able to represent the Town during 2011/2012 and signed the Declaration of Acceptance of Office.

Cllr Mrs M Govier gave a verbal tribute to the retiring Town Mayor who was presented with his 'Past Mayor' badge. Cllr D Whitcomb spoke responding to the good wishes of all.

003. ELECTION OF DEPUTY TOWN MAYOR

On the proposition of the Mayor, seconded by Cllr Sherrell, it was unanimously **RESOLVED** that Cllr Mrs A Johnson be appointed Deputy Town Mayor for the year 2011/2012. The Town Mayor invested Cllr Mrs A Johnson with the Medallion of Office, and Cllr Mrs A Johnson signed the Declaration of

Acceptance of Office and thanked the Council for the honour of being selected as Deputy Town Mayor for the ensuing year.

004. MAYOR'S EXPENSES

The Mayor declared a prejudicial interest and left the room. The Deputy Mayor took the Chair. On the proposition of Cllr H Smith, seconded by Cllr Mrs J Metcalf, it was unanimously **RESOLVED** that an allowance of £3,000 be paid to the Town Mayor to defray the expenses attached to that Office in pursuance of Section 15(5) of the Local Government Act 1972.

005. DEPUTY MAYOR'S EXPENSES

The Deputy Mayor declared a prejudicial interest and left the room. The Mayor returned and resumed the Chair. On the proposition of the Mayor, seconded by Cllr H Smith, it was unanimously **RESOLVED** that an allowance of £1,000 be paid to the Deputy Town Mayor to defray the expenses attached to that Office in pursuance of Section 15 of the Local Government Act 1972. The Deputy Mayor returned to the Chamber.

006. APPOINTMENT OF COMMITTEES.

On the proposition of Cllr Mrs M Govier, seconded by Cllr J Sellis, it was unanimously **RESOLVED** that Committees be appointed for the ensuing year as shown at Annex A.

007. CALENDAR OF MEETINGS.

Members were given the opportunity to chose over a monthly or a 6-weekly cycle of meetings. The Mayor proposed that the 6-weekly cycle be adopted, and was seconded by Cllr Sherrell. Members then voted and unanimously **RESOLVED** to adopt the 6-weekly cycle of meetings as shown in the calendar at Annex B.

008. REPRESENTATIVES ON CHARITIES AND OTHER BODIES.

On the proposition of Cllr J Sheldon, seconded by Cllr Mrs S Bailey, it was unanimously **RESOLVED** that representatives on Charities and other bodies be appointed for the ensuing year as shown at Annex C.

009. <u>RECORD OF ATTENDANCES</u>.

Members noted the record of attendances at meetings of the previous council shown on Annex D.

010. SEAL

Rising 7. 29 p.m.

On the proposition of Cllr Sherrell, seconded by Cllr Mrs M Govier, it was **RESOLVED** that the seal be affixed to the various Deeds and Documents to be made or entered into for the carrying into effect the several decisions and matters approved by the Council this day.

Signed	
Date	Town Mayor

011. The Town Mayor immediately chaired Special Meetings of the Standing Committees to formally elect the Chairmen and Vice-Chairman of these two Standing Committees:

a. Finance and General Purposes Committee.

Cllr. Smith, Chair, Cllr. Mrs Govier, Vice Chair

a. **Properties Committee**

Cllr. Mrs Bailey, Chair, Cllr. Sellis, Vice Chair